Knossos: Concept Sketches

Posted on March 20, 2012

0


Concept Sketch: Main Chamber

I have never really attempted concept art for a project like this before.  I gotta say, it is both exciting and infuriating at the same time.  My drawing and painting skills are not the best and as such I find myself having difficulty articulating what is in my head. But it’s getting better.

These latest sketches are the first in which I’ve played with color.  I’ve had ideas for a while and it’s nice to finally see what those are looking like.  I’m also playing with the idea of hanging cages.  I need to spend some quality time on the ride vehicle, cube shaped cages just are not going to cut it.

#1: Load:  The guards, after catching the Cult member and the guests while exiting the secret hallway, take the group to the load area and get them in the cages.  Once they are all secure and the doors are closed the floor opens up and the cages descend into the Labyrinth.

Concept Sketch: Load

#2: Main Chamber:  This is the first part of the Labyrinth guests see.  As the cages descend the Minotaur is heard stalking around the outer archways and we would see flashes of him but never the full beast at this point.  Guests will have a feeling of being vulnerable and stalked.

Concept Sketch: Main Chamber

#3/4: The Grotto:  This is the grotto at the bottom of the Labyrinth that the Cult member directs us to in order to escape.  As we get close to the water, Poseidon rushes thru the opening and then rises out of the water to stop us.

Grotto_01Grotto_02

